I assume we are supposed to draw our own conclusions on Redistribution


I support extensive programs to  supplement low incomes.  I generally don’t support vindictive attitudes toward those who make a lot.  This has an interesting perspective I mostly agree with (my bolding below).

I just watched this video on how much different people earn in a minute (including a minimum wage worker, a median worker, a teacher, a physician, Rex Tillerson and Kobe Bryant).  There is no conclusion drawn in the video so I assume the creator, Bart Edlund, is presenting a set of facts from which the viewer is free to draw this or her own conclusion.  So here’s my conclusion:

Markets reward people differently. Some people make a lot of money.  Some people make a little.  Some people think those who make a lot make too much.  Many people think those who make a little don’t make enough.  Some people think that Rex Tillerson is evil incarnate.  Some people would say that the income disparity depicted in the video is unfair. I don’t know how to define unfair. So I choose to dismiss fairness as a singular criterion for decision making. Although it must always be considered.And the government can help.  Or not.  I don’t begrudge someone being paid what others are willing to pay.  And I don’t advocate for taxing those who make ‘a lot’ based solely on the argument that they make ‘too much.’ I believe everyone should pay their ‘fair share.’ But I have no idea how to define a ‘fair share.’  I conclude that market based wages are the worst system for determining how much someone should make–except for any other system.  I know that is not an original thought.

I assume we are supposed to draw our own conclusions
Tim Haab
Fri, 05 Apr 2013 14:37:21 GMT

2 responses to “I assume we are supposed to draw our own conclusions on Redistribution

  1. I conclude that market based wages are the worst system for determining how much someone should make–except for any other system. I know that is not an original thought.

    Where markets are most free, the lot of the ordinary citizen is the richest and wealthiest in the world. Where those markets are less free, the poor are all the poorer.

  2. I agree, but my point is just being the best current Earthly system, doesn’t make it perfect. I doubt we’ll do much better anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

