Aside

Progressive or Paulite?


I’ve drifted far from conservatism, as it is now defined.  Ron Paul likes expresses my views best, but I do see a role for a social safety net and provision of public goods more than he.  Progressive I think suffer from too much confidence that giving power to the state to address issue will result in that power being used benevolently.  Conservatism is too paranoid now about liberalism motives and a dozen other things.

This little piece about Paul puts to the left of President Obama on the issue outlined here and I mostly agree with Paul.  The President anti-wealth drift I find disturbing.  I’m concerned about the the middle class and lower class not having sufficient opportunities, but I’m not anixous to take wealth from those who have legally obtained it.

2 responses to “Progressive or Paulite?

  1. It’s more likely that conservatism has drifted farther right, as mainstream progressivism has drifted farther left. I personally think extremists control the wings of both parties, and am beginning to lose confidence in our system. I feel like economic mobility has frozen since 2008, and no matter how hard you work, your income will be something less than it was the year before.

  2. I’ve drifted far from conservatism, as it is now defined.

    I have drifted socially, for sure. Fiscally, it’s hard to claim that conservatives/republicans are any different than liberals. Only on what they spend their money on.

    The President anti-wealth drift I find disturbing. I’m concerned about the the middle class and lower class not having sufficient opportunities

    I’m reading, and will soon begin posting, a book called “The Bell Curve.” So far, it has made a powerful case that America has done a fantastic job of leveling the playing field for opportunity. That is, kids that are college material are finding their way to college, independent of their parent’s socio-economic status. Further, now that class has been neutralized, we are seeing that years of education may not be the independent variable that determines economic success. Rather years of education is really just a measure of what really matters; IQ.

    It’s turning out that we may be dividing ourselves not by inherited wealth or inherited socio-economic status, but rather by intelligence. If, big if, that’s the case, I wonder what the liberals will do to account for someone born just “not smart” rather than “not wealthy.”

    but I’m not anixous to take wealth from those who have legally obtained it.

    At some point, this question has to be asked, “How much of a man’s property can the government seize?”

Leave a Reply

